Skip to content

The New XFL Announced Its Eight Teams

It was announced earlier this year that XFL would return and launch again in 2020, and on Wednesday, an important piece to the puzzle was revealed, as Vince McMahon held a press conference with a whole lot of folks to announce the cities that will play host to the league.

Beyond the presser, the XFL posted a video with a list of the cities to its official Twitter account. In all, eight cities will get an XFL squad: Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, Seattle, St. Louis, Tampa Bay, and Washington, D.C.

It’s still unclear what the nicknames will be for these teams, although the XFL’s first run in 2001 included franchises in a few of these cities. The team in the tri-state area was the New York/New Jersey Hitmen, while the championship-winning squad out west was know as the Los Angeles Xtreme. Like the rebooted version, the original XFL had eight teams.

What we did learn, however, is that major venues will host XFL games. Over 10 weeks, games will take place in the following buildings, some of which are also home to a collection of NFL teams:

Dallas — Globe Life Park
Houston — TDECU Stadium
Los Angeles —StubHub Center
New York — MetLife Stadium
Seattle — CenturyLink Field
St. Louis — The Dome at America’s Center
Tampa Bay — Raymond James Stadium
Washington, D.C. — Audi Field

Join the Discussion